The Book Lover

The Light between world by Laura E. Weymouth

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths they’ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

This edition uses deckle edges; the uneven paper edge is intentional.

Review

“The perfect story for anyone who’s ever searched for magic in the everyday, THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS will break your heart and then make it whole again. Laura Weymouth wields words like she’s casting spells, and the result is utterly enchanting.” (Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of the Reign of the Fallen series)

“Haunting and beautiful, The Light Between Worlds is a love story to siblings, to the belief in magic, to discovering where you belong.” (Lori M Lee, author of theGates of Thread and Stone series)

“An achingly lovely take on finding your own world. I loved this beautiful book!” (Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood)

“Even as Evelyn and Philippa navigate their exile from another world, Laura Weymouth reveals to us the real magic–born of sisterhood, nature, love and resilience–that resides in our own. THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS is transfixing and unforgettable.” (Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of Everless)

“A mystical novel about three siblings finding, then losing, then finding their ways home again.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“In this love letter to portal fantasies and Narnia, Weymouth infuses her characters with a rich panoply of emotions set against wartime England. A shining thread of hope and healing mitigates the book’s heartbreak and underlying trauma, suggesting a bright future for all involved.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Weymouth offers a picture of severe depression beautified by her own luminous prose…she evokes a sense of empathy for Evelyn, and offers absolution and redemption for Philippa, who has to believe that her sister is in a better place.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Anyone who knows that feeling of being in love with a fantasy world as a child can understand the longing that Evelyn feels for the Woodlands…. I am so compelled by this story and by these sisters who have lived in another world and must find contentment in our own.” (NPR)

From the Back Cover

Six years ago, Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell cowered from air strikes in a London bomb shelter. But that night took a turn when the sisters were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years in a forest straight out of myth and legend.

When they finally returned to London, no time had passed and nothing had changed—nothing, except themselves.

Now Evelyn is desperate to return to the Woodlands no matter what it takes, while Philippa just wants to move on.

But when Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home . . . or if the weight of their worlds finally pulled her under.

About the Author

Laura E. Weymouth lives at the edge of the woods in western New York, along with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, a spoiled cat, and an indeterminate number of chickens. The Light Between Worlds is her debut book, and she can be found online at http://www.lauraeweymouth.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s